Writer’s Ramble: Jason Fedora


It’s that time again where I bring you another edition of Writer’s Ramble. Today I am interviewing Jason Fedora. Please feel free to check out his bio and his book, available on Amazon AND at MidSouth Con 34 THIS WEEKEND. Regional folks, I’ll be there too with a special promotion, so stop on by and get your geek on!

Head shotTruthofBetrayal

 

  • How did you discover your passion for writing?

It was two things actually. The first happened one day while in grade school. It was Monday after Easter Sunday. The teacher asked the class to write a story of how we spent Easter. At the time I was getting inspired to write. I was also huge into Transformers. While the other kids wrote about hunting Easter eggs and such, my story revolved around Spike, the human in the Transformer’s TV show, showing the Autobots the customs of hiding and finding Easter eggs. While the Autobots were hunting for the eggs, the Deceptacons attacked. Lasers, rockets, and fists were either shot or thrown between the two warring parties. In the end, the Deceptacons were defeated and the Easter egg hunt resumed. My teacher gave me a C and my mother fussed at me, but to me at the time it was one of my proudest moments. It showed me I could tell stories.

The second was while I was a teenager and my best friend showed me how to play Dungeons and Dragons. My mother had the game but would never play it with me. My friend came along with the books and taught me to play. Eventually several others joined us and we had all night marathon sessions of D&D. It’s funny or maybe sad, depending on your point of view. While the other teenagers were riding around and going to parties, we were sitting around a table killing Orcust and Githiyanki. Once I got the rules down I tried my hand at Dungeon Mastering, which turned out to be my downfall as a player. After a few sessions my friends thought I was good, which meant i hardly ever got to play a character after that.

  • Do you approach story telling from a character building perspective and then world building or vice versa?

My ideas always start with a character and a problem that must be solved. I don’t think I have ever created a world and then built the character–seems kind of backwards to me. When I get an idea for a story, the character is doing something cool while solving the problems. I then start expanding on the character, which in turn creates the world. Before long the character is a living breathing entity and the world is a physical place.

  • Which part of the story tends to bog you down? The blank white page, the murky middle or wrapping everything up at the end?

Oh my God the middle. Writing the middle is like driving on a deserted road needing to use the bathroom but there is no store. You just know if you stop to go in the woods someone will suddenly appear, looking to see what’s going on. The middle seems like it goes on and on. The blank page has never intimidated me. As I have not had the problem of filling it up. The wrap up is to me the best part. It’s the climatic part of the story where everything you have been working towards come together, not to mention the end is now in sight. It’s a great feeling to type out the last word and then lean back in your chair knowing you have accomplished something special.

  • Tell us about your book and what inspired the story?

My book is about a man who betrayed everything he lived for, loved and fought for. His friend, who is more like a brother, must hunt him down to find out why. It’s about the true meaning behind people’s actions and the events that caused them. The story itself was one I wrote while in high school, using elements and events I came up with while I Dungeon Mastered. The story evolved over the years as I tinkered with it. When the dam broke so to speak, I said to myself “I’m going to be a writer.” I pulled the story out and worked it until it became fleshed out. It was Tommy Hancock, my editor, who drew out the full potential in me. With his help the story became rock solid, the characters became living people with feelings, wants and desires, and the world became a place you could touch, experience and walk in.

Bio

Jason Fedora’s writing career started when an elementary teacher had her students write an Easter story. While everyone else wrote of fluffy bunnies and family, Jason wrote about an Easter egg hunt that became the battle ground between the Autobots and the Decepticons. Jason has come a long way from that five page short story. He has recently had the Truth of Betrayal, a high fantasy, published by Dark Oak Press. Jason has one up and coming short story to be released by ProSe Press and is currently doing edits for Unknown: War Drums, a paranormal fantasy with his father, as well as Pillars of the World, the sequel to Truth of Betrayal.

 

Leave a Reply

