Writer’s Ramble: Interview with Kimberly Richardson


Now that everyone has recovered from Christmas, just in time to ring in the new year, we have with us today, author Kimberly Richardson.
10167994_10152341095666122_1417136420_n 10369729_10152451153416122_2380884058884875460_n1) Can you tell us what sparked your writing passion?

As people may or may not know, I am a big fan of Indiana Jones. When I was younger, I wanted to be like him: search for forbidden artifacts, travel to distant lands, and write down my experiences in a journal. So, I did just that. I would place my stuffed animals in my grandparents’ living room, put on my granddad’s hat, use my jump rope as a whip, and pretend that I was Indiana Kim! I wrote down my adventures  and then later typed them out. I loved the feel of using my mother’s typewriter and I think that was when the Writing God tapped me on the shoulder and said, “Greetings, little one! I see you enjoy the sound of a typewriter. I also see that you have quite an imagination. Care to continue doing this?” I said yes, and the rest is history.

On a side note, Indiana Kim grew up and became Agnes Viridian, the heroine in my new series with Pro Se Press. Her first story is in the Black Pulp anthology and she continues with a new story in the upcoming Black Pulp Two. I’m currently working on her first full novel tentatively titled The Floating World of Agnes Viridian.

2) Do you read the same genres you write?
For a while, I did not. I branched out to reading literary works (of which I still do!) because I felt that my work would have been skewed if I read more dark fantasy. Of course, I quickly learned that made no sense and just read books that I wanted to read, no matter the genre.
3) If you could go back and give your newbie writer self advice, what would it be?
 Advice? Typewriters are most cool. That sound is intoxicating. Be prepared to fall in love with not only the art, but also your characters. Never let anyone or anything tell you that being a writer is “dumb”.
4) You started a tea company. Can you tell us about the inspiration for that and how it ties into your writing?

11046775_10153906649101122_8053538640356759517_n

I have many boxes of tea at home, I am (sort of) a member of a Japanese Tea Ceremony group, and I study Chado, or The Art of Tea. In short, tea is a big part of my life. However, I wanted to make the ultimate proclamation of my devotion – I decided to make my own blends. Goth Librarian was the first; since that is the label that most people know me for, I wanted to create a tea blend that would represent it well. I had so much fun making it that I decided to try my hand at another blend – Elmwood. Elmwood is based on the historical cemetery in Memphis and my photography residency in 2015. Soon, I had more and more tea blend ideas and at that point, I wanted to create a tea company – Viridian Tea Company was born. The blends stem from my life and my experiences and it is also a great way to express my creativity. My mind runs on a million miles a minute, so having added lanes for the ideas that come running out of it are always a good thing!

To connect with the always intriguing Kimberly Richardson check any or all of the following:
To check out her books and short stories: 
The Decembrists
Tales from a Goth Librarian
Tales From a Goth Librarian II
Mabon/Pomegranate
Dreams of Steam (the first one)
Realms of Imagination

Pro Se Press (both Black Pulp and Asian Pulp)

Leave a Reply

