What do I know?


On the way to dropping Miss Drama off at school I got a call from the high school.

“Your son has a spider bite and it’s bad. He needs to go to the doctor.”

“He’s had that for like a week. ”

“But it’s getting worse. He really needs to be checked out. It’s contagious.”

No, pretty sure that isn’t how that works and it didn’t look bad when I saw it.  “Okay, fine. I’ll pick him up.”

“So, you’re on your way?”

“Not right this minute. I’m across town dropping my other child at school.”

So, I drove all the way back, took Mr. Smarty-pants to the pediatrician, who shared my, “Seriously?” attitude.

It had finally burst as those icky things are wont to do, releasing all the icky stuff, which meant it was healing up. No red streaks, no sloughing skin or crazy swelling– he just had a raw spot that’ll scab over and heal up in another week or so.

I told the doctor, “Yes, they claimed it was contagious.”

She laughed. “Yeah, if he like smeared it all over someone.” She gave him a band-aid to cover the bite so the school would quit flipping out. Yes, it fit under a single, normal sized band-aid.

As consolation, she gave me a sports physical form so I wouldn’t have to come back for that.

Having missed his second breakfast, AKA school lunch, I swung by the house so Mr. Smarty-pants could get noms. He devoured two sandwiches and three hot-dogs. Yep, sooooooo sick. I then took him back to school less than two hours after I had checked him out. The secretary that had flipped out seemed surprised to see him.  “I guess he was fine.”

I just smiled.

Leave a Reply

