Cake or Cake?


A few years back my sister, Mrs. Music, introduced me to the Eddie Izzard skit, “Cake or Death?”.

The cake or death part starts at 5min, but the whole thing is funny. I’ll wait.

Back? Okay. Well, gluten free cake can be the “death” in the cake or death question, as it doesn’t really rate as cake. For the past few years I’ve been making non-cake cake. It’s a recipe off Allrecipes.com and is pretty good, but the texture still isn’t very cake-like. For SoupKing’s birthday this year I googled in hopes of finding a recipe that a) didn’t list ingredients I couldn’t find and b)was better than my standard non-cake cake.

I did, indeed, find an excellent recipe. I think I followed most of the instructions without alterations the first go around. It had better flavor, moisture and texture, but it was a tad too mushy.

Miss Drama’s birthday was yesterday and so I needed to whip up a cake. After all, a birthday without cake? Clearly death (okay, not really, but definitely a very sad birthday.) So I looked up the recipe I last used with vague notions of improving it. Turns out, I was out of coconut flour, which turned out to be serendipitous.

  • 1/4 cup almond flour
  • 3 cup all purpose gluten free flour (recipe at end of post HERE) *no two flour blends are quite the same so keep that in mine*
  • 1 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon GF Baking Powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup (12 tablespoons) coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 8 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups milk (or non-dairy substitute– I used goat milk)
  • 2 teaspoons gluten free vanilla (I may have been more generous as I kind of just poured some into the batter)

In addition to tweaking the ingredients I ignored the instructions and proceeded with traditional cake making procedure, starting with pre-heating the oven to 350F. Then I creamed the eggs, sugar and oil together and added the vanilla. I was using a stand mixer with a whisk attachment. If you add too much liquid or flour too quickly you end up wearing a fair amount. So, I alternated adding a little flour and a little milk until all of it was combined. I let it mix for 2 minutes at high speed. Then I sprayed two round cake pans, dusted with a few pinches of the flour mix, poured in the batter and cooked. I’d start with 20 min and then check every couple of minutes after that depending on your oven. One of the cakes was done in about 22min., while the other took closer to 30min as it was a bit more full.

Cool and ice and tada, almost-cake cake! It wasn’t too mushy, yet it had that great moisture you want in a cake. The texture reminded me of the best box mixes or a freshly baked cake from a bakery.

Almost-cake cake!

Mrs. Music deemed it evilly delicious and even Mr. Music commented on how good it was and he isn’t used to gluten-free baking. The remaining little bit that was left last night didn’t last through today, so I’m pretty sure this cake is a keeper. If not for the fact that I ate a rather large amount last night, I may have made another today, as it is MY birthday today. Instead, I ate a whole pint of goat milk ice cream–far less effort.

To celebrate my victory over cake death and my birthday, wander over to InkStained Succubus, comment and get a chance to win a free digital copy of my book Fated Bonds.

One response to “Cake or Cake?

Leave a Reply

