Buns!


I’ve done several recipes of gluten free buns. All of them tasted great, but they were usually lacking in the consistency department. There was the time I attempted my own baking rings and had bread mass versus rolls. There was another time my rolls became more of this big giant pull-apart thing. You get the idea. Wet dough = crappy roll.

I wanted to fix sloppy joes yesterday, but the store was out of gluten free buns. So, once again I turned to the internet, but I can’t help tweaking things so mine was slightly different than the one I found. I really liked this one as the process was simple. Some recipes call for multiple rises, which is more than I care to do for a quick dinner.

Gluten free buns

  • 1.5 c brown rice flour
  • 1/2 c sorghum
  • 1 c tapioca
  • 1 tbs yeast (I used bread machine yeast as that’s what I had)
  • 1 tbs xanthum (Yes, that is a lot, but you really do need a firmer dough for buns)
  • 1 tsp onion powder and 1 tsp thyme (optional or could use any herb mix you like)
  • 1.5 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp sugar or honey (I used honey)
  • 3/4c warm water
  • 4 eggs (warmed to room temp)
  • 1/4 c olive oil
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • optional onion seeds, sesame, or poppy seeds pressed into top of buns

Mix all the dry ingredients. In a mixer bowl, crack eggs, beat well, and add the rest of the liquid ingredients. Add the flour to the liquid and mix for 2 minutes using a paddle attachment. If the dough is dry add up to 1/4 more water, but dough should not be wet, just a bit sticky.

Grease a cookie sheet or use parchment paper to line. Coat your hands in oil and scoop up roughly 1/4-1/3 cup and roll into a ball. Do this until you have ~8 buns and (redistribute as needed). Then, flatten the balls, gently pressing the onion seeds or other decorative seasoning into the top.

Let the buns sit in a warm place to rise for about 45 min. (I let them rise a good 10-15min longer than recipe called for). Preheat oven to 400 while buns are rising. When they have risen, back for 10-20 min. They are done when they are golden brown.

dough before rising

dough before rising

Buns!

Buns!

They had an excellent taste, cut well even when hot, and stood up to the massive amount of sloppy joe ground beef slathered on them.

Bake and enjoy my fellow GF peeps and if you like, here’s the original recipe!

Leave a Reply

