Gluten Free Sandwich Bread


I stopped at Whole Foods on the way home. I was out of ginger and with stomach plague rampaging through the house, this was a horror I could not allow to persist. Of course, I ended up getting other stuff.

On the way through the gluten free isle, I passed a couple pondering gluten free mac ‘n cheese options. I stopped, backtracked a step and pointed to the better one.

“That one tastes the best.”

According to Miss Drama, we ended up talking FOREVER. Then again, in Miss Drama’s world, anything over five seconds is forever.  The encounter reminded me that I should share my gluten free sandwich bread recipe with the world. This one mimics white bread. I have one from a recipe book that I’ve tweaked which is reminiscent of an Italian bread, and when I substitute buckwheat tastes almost rye-like. While simpler, they lack the soft flexibility of good old white bread. My next plan is to try my hand at a multi-grain bread, but I suspect I may be the only one in the house that actually LIKES multi-grain bread.

I have two versions of the recipe, one for old fashioned baking in an oven and another I adapted for a bread machine. A lot of folks cannot tolerate corn. Supposedly, potato starch is interchangeable with cornstarch. I’ve yet to try that, as potato starch is more bothersome to me than cornstarch. Tapicoa is another alternative, but that may cause crumbling and likely is not a one to one switch. If you don’t like soy, try millet in its place.

Version 1:

  • 1 tbsp yeast
  • 4 tbsp sugar (or honey)
  • 1.5 c water (warm)
  • 3c GF flour mix (see below)
  • 2.5 tsp xanthum gum
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 1.5 tbsp oil
  • 1 tsp vinegar

flour mix:

It’s given in parts so you can make any amount you wish. I’ll put the parts and the cups that I calculated. I ended up with a little left over which I stored away for next time.

  • 3 parts brown rice flour [1 cup]
  • 3 parts corn starch [1 cup]
  • 2 parts soy flour [2/3 c]
  • 1 part masa harina or finely ground corn flour [1/3c]  Masa harina would be in the Mexican food section of the grocery store.

Directions

Preheat oven on LOWEST setting

  1. In a small bowl combine yeast and sugar and slowly add the water, stirring to dissolve the yeast. Let sit.
  2. Mix flours, sift 2.5 c into a large bowl and add the other dry ingredients.
  3. In another medium sized bowl whisk eggs, oil, and vinegar until the eggs are slightly frothy.
  4. Add the yeast to the eggs and mix.
  5. Add the liquid to flour and mix for four minutes. The dough is wet and tends to climb the beaters, but I just raised it partially out periodically. I got a new mixer that comes with a paddle, which works perfectly for gluten free batters.
  6. TURN OFF OVEN
  7. Transfer batter to a greased loaf pan. Glass cooks more evenly than aluminum.
  8. Allow to rise for 20 or 30 minutes until it is even with the top of the pan.
  9. Bake at 375 for 50-60 minutes. (My oven is a bit hot, so I baked at 350 for 60 minutes and it was perfect.)
  10. Allow to cool and enjoy 🙂

Tips and tricks

  1.  Don’t let the bread rise too much past even with the pan or it’ll fall.
  2. The loaves I made this way tended to be a bit delicate. The bread machine version works better with all 3 cups of flour. I haven’t made one by hand in awhile, but this may improve the texture.
  3. Honey can be substituted for sugar and as little as a single tbsp (honey or sugar) can be used. Soy flour is a bit strong, though, which is why I added more.

Version 2:

  • 1 tbsp yeast
  • 4 tbsp sugar (or honey)
  • 1.5 c water (warm)
  • 3c GF flour mix (see below)
  • 2.5 tsp xanthum gum
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 eggs
  • 1.5 tbsp oil
  • 1 tsp vinegar
  • 1 tbsp flax meal

flour mix:

It’s given in parts so you can make any amount you wish. I’ll put the parts and the cups that I calculated. I ended up with a little left over which I stored away for next time.

  • 3 parts brown rice flour [1 cup]
  • 3 parts corn starch [1 cup]
  • 2 parts soy flour [2/3 c]
  • 1 part masa harina or finely ground corn flour [1/3c]  Masa harina would be in the Mexican food section of the grocery store. OR 1/3c Sorghum (I think I prefer the sorghum). IF you choose not to use the flax meal, use 1/2 c Sorghum

Directions

  1. In a small bowl combine yeast and sugar, flax, and slowly add the water, stirring to dissolve the yeast. Let sit.
  2. Mix flours, sift ALL OF THE ABOVE MIX into a large bowl and add the other dry ingredients.
  3. In another medium sized bowl whisk eggs, oil, and vinegar until the eggs are slightly frothy.
  4. Add the yeast to the eggs and mix.
  5. Add the liquid to flour and mix for four minutes. The dough is wet and tends to climb the beaters, but I just raised it partially out periodically. I got a new mixer that comes with a paddle, which works perfectly for gluten free batters.
  6. Transfer batter to a greased bread machine loaf pan WITHOUT THE PADDLES.
  7. Program :
    • PREHEAT -15min
    • KNEAD -OFF
    • RISE 1 -20 min
    • RISE 2 -OFF
    • RISE 3 -35min
    • BAKE -1hr:10min
    • KEEP WARM -OFF
    • CRUST= MEDIUM
The slight fall in the middle means I added a bit too much water.

The slight fall in the middle means I added a bit too much water.

It's a very pretty loaf

It’s a very pretty loaf.

Leave a Reply

