Progress…Maybe


Last week I held my second committee meeting. Much to my dismay, I didn’t get to use a gavel, just loads of slides as I attempted to impress upon the professors who will eventually decide I’ve toiled enough to graduate, that I have indeed been doing stuff since my last meeting.

Professor M forgot about the meeting and I had to ring his office.

“Hello, this is Hilaire, calling to remind you about the committee meeting at 2 p.m. today.”

“Who?”

“Hilaire. I’m calling about the committee meeting.”

“Retirement meeting?”

“No. CO-MIT-TEE meeting.”

“Whose committee?”

“Hilaire Playa.” I stretched the syllables out in an attempt to make them sound clearer.

“Today?”…And on it went until he figured out I was politely informing him that he was five minutes late.

This call was made in the hearing of all the other professors on my committee. The one kind enough to provide Professor M’s number commented, “Must have been the secretary.”

“Uhm, no. No, it wasn’t.”

Awkward.

At the end though, they agreed I was making good progress. In light of this decision, the reaction I set up Friday has done nothing. Nada. Zip. Graduate in a year? HA! It’s mocking me.

To show it who is boss, I left it alone and neglected in the lab until tomorrow. We’ll see who breaks fist.

 

 

Leave a Reply

