Et tu July?


We’re half way through July. It is poised over summer break with a knife as August demands it deliver the final blow…..

Too literary an analogy for summer?

I’ll be blunt.

They are advertising back-to-school sales and the kids go back in three short weeks.

On one side, they’ll be at school instead of devouring my pantry. On the downside I’ll have to wake up at a disgusting hour as the “combined” school system decided to conform to county school times, which bumps everyone back half an hour. For this alone I loathe the school district merger.

In either case, summer is flying by and I’ve yet to make it to the pool even once, although I did ride 14 miles through the Shelby Farms trails with Mr. Smarty-Pants. It is no wonder he excels on the soccer team. In an age where daily exercise means walking to the fridge, when he’s not parked in front of the game system, he’s running, biking, or moving in some manner. He kept pace with me the entire way, and I’ve had to work my way up to that kind of fitness.

As fall plots the death of summer, I look forward to it with mixed emotion. Fall means time for my PhD candidacy exams. (Excuse while I go panic……………………………………………………………………………………. ………………………………………………………………..Okay. I’m back.)

Fall will also bring several writing goals to fruition:

  • August– promotional event with Imagicopter– It’s a multi-author book signing celebrating regional talent.  I’ll talk a bit about my upcoming books and have copies of Conjurings.

    In addition my editor will reveal the cover and release date of my book, Fated Bonds, an urban fantasy romance.
  • September- Kerlak/Dark Oak Press is tentatively scheduled to release A Tall Ship, A Star, and Plunder”, a pirate themed anthology in which my story “Pirates of Happenstance” shall appear.
  • October- Tentative month for the release of Fated Bonds.

So, good or bad, regime change is on the way. I feel like I should stand on a balcony and announce, “Friends, interwebs, countrymen, lend me your ear!”

 

Leave a Reply

