Anything but…..SHOES!


I went to the student health clinic today because my foot has been hurting since yesterday. I figured she might also figure out why my left toe hurts intermittently.

Her prescription: new shoes.

Clearly, not me, but this is most definitely my reaction to spending money on shoes. I'm a big giant baby about it.

Clearly, not me, but this is most definitely my reaction to spending money on shoes. I’m a big giant baby about it.

GAH!

I hate shoe shopping. My feet are two different sizes, one is more a ten and the other nine and a half. I’ve got a narrow heel and wide toes, a high arch and pronate badly. I’m a shoe salesman’s worst nightmare because NOTHING makes me happy. There’s always something getting squished or rubbed wrong. I’ve taken to buying cheap shoes because I’d rather pay fifteen and be barely satisfied than fifty and scowling at my feet. Thanks to the whole wide toe thing it seems my left foot has the beginnings of a bunion.

Aren’t those like old people things?

I can imagine myself in fifty years when some young whippersnapper doctor says something I don’t like.

“Best not argue with me, kid, I have bunions older than you!”

Seems I’m going to be cranky in my old age. Advance apologies, whippersnapper.

 

 

One response to “Anything but…..SHOES!

  1. Oh, I can totally relate! I love shoes, but I have plantar fasciitis in one foot and the only shoes I’m comfortable in are my sneakers. I have dressy and nice casual shoes, but they’re cheap and hurty because, like you, I don’t want to pay big money for shoes I might end up hating.

    I just discovered there’s a Walking Company at Wolfchase, so I plan to check that out soon and possibly take the risk on expensive shoes.

Leave a Reply

