Geekdom Just Around the Corner


It’s that time of year again. MidSouthCon 31 is this weekend. Once again, I shall be in attendance as a moderator. I rather hoped to achieve “guest” status this year, but there’s always next year. If you happen across me Friday evening, no I’m not impersonating a zombie. Likely I’ll be brain-dead from exhaustion after teaching a lecture at the perky, ungodly hour of 8:30am, followed by lab stuff, meetings, and somewhere in there cramming food into my gullet before making my grand entrance.

By grand entrance I mean nick-of-time mad dash to my panel.

There’s something invigorating about being surrounded by other writers and artists and discussing our craft. Every year it gives me a creative high for weeks after.

For those of you who’ve never attended a convention let me summarize what MSC offers. There are panels on various topics, from costume design, gaming, science, anime, to writing and fiction. There’s a video gaming room, a large board game area (not Chutes and Ladders, but in depth board games), costume contest, shows, art auction (for charity), and a dealers’ room with cool stuff to buy, or for the financially challenged, gaze upon wistfully. There’s also a ton of people in creative costumes.

I anticipate a fun weekend of geekery, laughter, and sleep deprivation. If you’re in the area, check it out. If you’re from farther corners of the world, be brave, embrace your inner geek and check out a con near you!

Leave a Reply

