GPS Not Included


Thirty-three years and some odd months back I woke my poor mother, cancelled a planned picnic with homemade fried chicken, and inducted my parents into the world of sleep deprivation and cold dinners. I was not outfitted with a life GPS. Okay, so the Department of Defense was still working the kinks out of the GPS thing, but they had maps, and I didn’t get one of those either. Of course, no one that I know got one.

On the radio this morning two DJs were asking for calls about biggest regrets. The most common one seemed to be leaving someone they loved. Sometimes they found them again and sometimes not. My initial thought involved decisions I made regarding my ex-husband. Then I stopped and thought. Do I really regret all of that time? Truth be told, no. Was it harder, lonelier, and stressful? Oh yes.

However, had I not taken that road, I would not be where I am today. I might not have discovered my passion for writing or met the amazing people I have become friends with over the years. I might not have found my beloved Soup King or have three ever-entertaining children.

So, at the end of the day, I might not have always made the wisest choices or the best ones, but I have no true regrets. Whenever I play my last act in the play that is life and the curtain closes for the last time, I want to smile and think, “Now that was a grand adventure!”

So, ditch the worn out road map someone handed you, or the bossy GPS society tries to sell you for life. Make your own adventure!

In the wise words of Robert Frost:

“I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.”

 

One response to “GPS Not Included

  1. I have, in complete seriousness, made Jason promise that if he’s ever given the opportunity to go back in time and change something, he won’t do it. Because who knows how that would affect where we are now? And I like where we are now.

    Plus I’ve seen the movies and time travel rarely ends well for anyone.

Leave a Reply

