Playing Favorites


I confess. I play favorites. No, not with my kids, but with my characters. Oh, I try to be fair, but sometimes it takes a great deal of effort.
 

Sometimes the wrong character keeps putting in their two cents:

“Finn, this isn’t your story. Pipe down. You play a key role, isn’t that good enough?”

“Did you just tell me to pipe down? Be glad you’re my writer. Otherwise I might have to end your measly human existence.”

~~~~

Sometimes the plot comes to a screeching halt and the character is of no help whatsoever:

“We need to get you out of this forest.”

“Don’t look at me. You’re the one who wrote me into this darn place.”

“You aren’t helping.”

“You’re welcome.”

~~~~

More than once I’ve been well into a story when someone strides onto the scene and steals the spotlight:

“Who the heck are you?”

“Gabriel, of course. Tremble in fear at my approach.”

“I wrote you, you know.”

“Yes, I know. I’m awesome, aren’t I?”

~~~~

Is it any wonder I sometimes misplace my keys?

 

One response to “Playing Favorites

  1. I know that feeling entirely. I feel that way about Shad whom I’m not sure you’ve met yet, and I also feel that way about Kyleth. Fun isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

