Better Odds: UPDATE


A fellow writer mentioned a contest a couple of weeks back, the 2013 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award.  After getting two rejections (technically three, as one rejection was for two pieces) less than a week apart, I figured, hey, it can’t hurt. After all, Amazon sells just about every thing and the lucky people who make the final cut will get a bigger lump sum of money than most publishers dole out now days. For a mostly unpublished author, that could be the stepping stone to a real writing career.

So, by February 13th, I’ll know whether or not I make the first cut. For those of you interested in the contest, better hurry. Only three more days remain before the deadline, assuming they don’t hit the 10,000 entry cut-off before then.

1 in 10,000.

While not exactly amazing odds, it’s better than playing the lottery. Just entering the contest scores each entrant a discount code for their Kindle-ready conversion service. Seeing as how I had plans to self e-pub the novel I submitted, I figure it’s a win-win situation.

In the interim, stories await.

*UPDATE: Didn’t make the cut. 😦

4 responses to “Better Odds: UPDATE

  1. You can do it!!

  2. How exciting! I’m liking your odds. Also, bonus, you know exactly when you’ll hear back, as opposed to the indefinite wait of most submissions.

    • southerndreamer

      I agree. There are 2 publishers that I sent a short story to 461 days ago and have heard nothing. One totally teased me by Cc’ing me early on when a junior editor recommended my story to sr. editor for publishing. Despite 2 attempts requesting an update….NADA. Seriously? 461 days? I’m calling those two default rejections.

Leave a Reply

