Food, Fire, BANG!


For the holidays I baked a gazillion cookies for presents and ate maybe half the gazillion. My family and friends happily devoured the other half. I ate things I haven’t in awhile, and all told, my innards behaved well, so that alone gave me reason to be happy over the holidays.

Noms!

Noms!

I had a white Christmas!!!! Granted it didn’t start snowing until 11pm Christmas Day, but that still counts. I think I was maybe five the last time I had a white Christmas.

Somewhere near Little Rock, Arkansas. They got WAY more than Memphis.

Somewhere near Little Rock, Arkansas. They got WAY more than Memphis.

Despite the tedious part of much driving, in snow, I got to see many friends and family, which I greatly enjoyed. Games were played, wine imbibed, songs sung, Nick punched (he had it coming….mostly), and more calories eaten than I normally eat in a week.

I rang in both Christmas Eve and New Years’ in front of a fire.  The latter was a giant bon-fire, started in true hick fashion. How’s that, you ask? Pour a gallon of gasoline on it, of course, and hope you don’t blow yourself up. When my sis’ boyfriend lit it the boom that rattled the windows made me think that surely someone had been incinerated in the blast. Thankfully no one sported burns or singed hair.  Although, I heard some stories of past bonfires….

I think Mr. Smarty-pants did a fire dance at one point...

I think Mr. Smarty-pants did a fire dance at one point…

More explosions followed with firecrackers, roman candles, and other assorted fireworks that made my ear drums cringe, either from the concussion of fireworks or from my kids screaming in glee.

Ooooh.

Ooooh.

2012 sent me on a roller coaster of ups and downs, but I think we exploded the heck out of it there at the end, so maybe 2013 will be a more enjoyable ride. If not, I know where to go to blow it up with a bang.

One response to “Food, Fire, BANG!

  1. Sounds fun. Where did you get a cookie sheet that fits a gazillion cookies on it?

Leave a Reply

